top of page

First time for 2 sails!

I took Josh Gary and his son Mo Mo out for a sail. It was an adventurous day.

We started the say waiting to go under the Turner Creek Bridge. The height marker showed 32' and I was nervous to go under as my mast height to water is approximately 34'. We finally crossed under after 33' was showing.We cleared with probably 2'.

After clearing the bride we had a great day sailing. The biggest event of the day was getting two sails up. It was blowing close to 15 knots and not being very experienced we healed to almost 45 degrees right after putting the first sail up. This scared the crap out of Mo Mo. I very sloppily rigged my first reef. It was not pretty, but got the job done. We spent the a lot of the day sailing without the motor. We did 5-6 knots into the wind, but 4-5 knots when we came back downwind. All in all a great day.

bottom of page